Pediatrics Radiologist

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

chasingzion

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
It is my dream to become a pediatrics radiologist.

Do any of you have some insight on what to do to be the strongest applicant for med school?
I am a freshman in college now with an undeclared major. I am currently taking prereqs to get into a sonography program.

I was thinking of either getting a bachelors in radiologic imagining and doing post-bac pre med to continue on into med school

or maybe I should just get a bachelors in biomedical sciences and continue on into med school.

Does my plan sounds like a strong applicant for med school? I'm open to suggestions.
I'm trying not to waste so much time.

I could just get an associates in biomedical sciences (im at a jr college) and then transfer to a university and finish my bachelors in biomedical sciences and then continue on into med school but honestly, im a single mother with a 10 month old baby boy. I need a career that will give me a decent pay while I'm trying to progress in my education, which is why I've decided to try sonography for now.

What do you think?

Members don't see this ad.

A peds radiologist trains through radiology, not pediatrics.

It doesn't really matter what you major in in college, so long as you enjoy what you're doing and get good grades. I had a Studio Art major in my class. If you think you can get a job as a sonographer and that will help you do the best you can do, then do that. It will certainly give you some (not all) of the clinical experience you need to get into medical school.

But your major does not make you a strong applicant. Your grades, your MCAT score, your extracurricular activities, your understanding of the medical profession (clinical experience), and your research/volunteer experience are what are going to make your application.