Permanent Resident - 3.5 GPA 32 MCAT

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JGGoobers

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently in my second year of applying to medical school, I have not gotten interview invites yet and I'm looking at applying for a third time next year. During the gap year between my first attempt and my second, I have worked as a medical assistant at a private pain clinic, shadowed intensively within the Seton hospital network, and worked with my local church in volunteering and leadership roles. Currently, I am working two part-time teaching positions, volunteering and shadowing with Seton, performing research with a physician in a hospital on child epilepsy, and working with my local church. Here are my statistics:

Ethnicity: Asian American - Permanent Resident (Resident in Texas)
GPA: 3.57 cGPA/3.5 sGPA
MCAT 32 (10B, 10V, 12P)
Volunteer Hours: 100 (Still growing)
Shadowing Hours: 90 (Experience in the OR and in clinicals, still growing)
Research Experience: 1.5 years without publications (not counting the research I am currently doing, hoping to get a publication out of this opportunity)
500 hours as a medical assistant
Over 2000 hours working with my local church as a leader
60 hours coaching high school basketball at KIPP

My MCAT score expires after this next year, so if I do not reapply this next year, I will have to take the new MCAT format for future applications. I am applying for U.S. citizenship and will be a citizen next year as I apply. I have 5 strong recommendation letters, 2 from physicians, 2 from science faculty, and 1 from my private voice lessons instructor. Any advice on improving my candidacy would be extremely helpful!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited: