Petroleum Engineering Major Thinking about doing Pre-Med

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Fullmetalx

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am currently a sophomore petroleum engineering major at Texas A&M and have a 3.38 GPA. I received an internship my freshman year and already have another internship lined for this upcoming summer. However, over the past few months I've been really thinking hard on what I want to do with my life. Up until senior year of high school I always wanted to become a doctor of some sort. I volunteered in in surgery my junior year summer of high school and absolutely loved it. However, the summer after I volunteered in ER and dreaded every single moment of it. The doctors seemed unhappy, the patients ungrateful etc. That summer was actually the reason why I decided not to do pre-med in college and chose engineering instead. I actually really enjoy petroleum engineering and I had a blast on my last internship! I am also very excited for this next summer and it seems like I am doing well/above average compared to my peers. However, there are days where I wonder if I made the right choice or not. I've always wanted to be a surgeon and I am not sure if I will regret later on in life of my career choice. I was thinking about keeping my options open doing pre med. I have AP credit for majority of the classes such as Chemistry 111/112 and Biology 111/112. I even have AP credit for english. The only credits I don't have to fulfill pre med requirements for my school are Ochem 1/2, Biochem, and an upper level biology class. I was just wondering if anyone can give me their opinions of doing an engineering major with pre-med. Is my GPA already too low to have a realistic chance of being accepted to med school? Does anyone have a similar experience? Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

1) Some schools don't accept AP credits for prereqs.