Ph.D. Programs within Medical Schools?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PreDrANB

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm in the process of researching Ph.D. (clinical child) programs to apply to next year, and I've found that 2 of my top 5 programs are housed within medical schools. I currently work in a hospital and am very interested in working in a hospital/medical setting for my internship and throughout my career. I'm wondering, however if there is a particular reputation or understanding about phd programs within medical schools of which I am not aware.

Thank you!!

Members don't see this ad.

Might help if you list the program's you are considering. Feinberg, Loyola, Drexel, etc all come to mind

I thought there were only 2 clinical psych PhD programs expressly housed in medical schools, Northwestern Feinberg School of Medicine and UT Southwestern Medical Center.

I do not think there is a reputation or bias. Northwestern comes with a 50% tuition waiver but its still more money than I think is worthwhile. Not sure about UT.

I think the consensus is that both provide fine clinical training and research experience.

Members don't see this ad :)
I thought there were only 2 clinical psych PhD programs expressly housed in medical schools, Northwestern Feinberg School of Medicine and UT Southwestern Medical Center.

I do not think there is a reputation or bias. Northwestern comes with a 50% tuition waiver but its still more money than I think is worthwhile. Not sure about UT.

I think the consensus is that both provide fine clinical training and research experience.

Rosalind Franklin also comes to mind. I believe this is another school that also only does 50% tuition remission, but also has a lower match rate than I would look for in a program.