Pharmacist intern with interest in veterinary medicine looking for resources

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

haiku16

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Good morning! I'm a pharmacy student currently on my last year of rotations, and had a question for the vets out there regarding accessing veterinary-specific journals and drug information.
I have a particular interest in veterinary medicine, and I find a lot of pharmacists are way under trained in this area. My college offered a veterinary elective, which was awesome, but a one quarter elective wasn't near enough time to grasp all the knowledge I would like to have in this area.
I've also noticed pharmacy students are at a loss when it comes to efficiently searching for and accessing reputable veterinary journals. We actually had a drug information assignment were some students had veterinary related question (sadly I got stuck with a human question!), and I heard a lot of students claim that pubmed was totally lacking in animal-related journals. Most of what they found were from phase I drug trials for drugs targeted towards humans.
Getting to my ultimate question, what are the databases and secondary resources vets are taught to use? Is there any resource for animal-based trials? I feel like I have great literature evaluation skills, and would love the opportunity to apply them to animal medicine! I do have a copy of plumb's that I keep at my home pharmacy, but other than that, I'm at a total loss.
Also, as vets, what other information do you wish your local pharmacists knew when dispensing medications to your patients?
Any information is appreciated!

Members don't see this ad.