Pharmacy Student Applying to Dental School - Advices Needed

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

azxken

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I'm currently in pharmacy school in CA and thinking to drop out of this term and focus on studying for the DAT -- hoping to get a good score so that I can apply this year. I'm thinking of switching to dental because I believe that the field will suit me much better. I was a pre-dental student during my freshman year but then switched to pre-pharmacy at my senior year and got into pharmacy school the following year. Now, I realized that the pharmacy profession is not for me and I want to go back.

Here are my stats:
Undergrad GPA
cGPA: 3.33; sGPA: 3.12; BCP: 3.05
200 hours of shadowing at a dental clinic (about 3 years ago)
LOR: 1 from a professor and most likely going to request from the dentist where I shadowed

I know that my stats aren't great and I haven't taken the DAT yet so it's hard to say..

Anyways, what do you guys think of my case? Should I go for my dream profession or just continue on with pharmacy? Should I let them know that I was once a pharmacy student? If yes then do you think it would make me become a better applicant? or would it back-fire me since they might think that I'm indecisive? Please let me know what your opinions are and what my focus should be at this point.

Thank you for all of your time.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Take the DAT and roll the dice. i think you being a pharm student would help, due to the volume of work involved. Got a 3.5 to boot too.

What made you switch from dental back to pharm?

Reactions: 1 user
I think you need to be VERY clear on why you decided to go to pharm school and then switch in the middle of it. They will know that you were a pharm student since you must submit your transcript.
The question: Why the change?