PharmD w/ exp. applying to MD. What are my chances please?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

trx283

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

First let me take the time to thank you for reading this.

I am a non traditional student, graduated from PharmD school in 2008 and have worked a variety of clinical and retail pharmacy positions. I have completed my additional prerequisites for med school while working as pharmacy manager.

MCAT in 2010 and scored a 28. (8VR, 11PS, 9B)
cGPA is 3.75 (including pharm graduate courses)
AMCAS sGPA is 3.85

Questions please:

1) what do you think my chances of getting into a US school would be, what about the Carribeans?
2) what do you think my list of schools should be, I live in Texas?

Thanks for your time, any input is much appreciated.

Members don't see this ad.

Members don't see this ad :)
Hi all,

I am a non traditional student, graduated from PharmD school in 2008 and have worked a variety of clinical and retail pharmacy positions. I have completed my additional prerequisites for med school while working as pharmacy manager.

AMCAS sGPA is 3.85

Questions please:

1) what do you think my chances of getting into a US school would be, what about the Carribeans?

Your MCAT is invalid now (too old), so when you retake it, that will have an enormous impact on your chances!

Edit: Beaten to it. :(

Reactions: 1 user
Echoing the posters above me, you're going to have to re-take the MCAT. I have absolutely no idea how the new MCAT is going to be scored, but if you can get a 30+ equivalent you'll be in good shape for most mid tier medical schools. If you're not averse to going DO, I'd say getting anything over a 25 would be sufficient. Stay far away from anything in the Carribbean.