PhD after PharmD?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Minokim2512

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all,

I'm a young undergrad student and need some guidance with my future decision. I apologise ahead if I happen to make any offensive statement. Again, I am VERY young (19) and still learning so please don't yell at me. Any input is much appreciated!

I've just finished taking Orgo and did some undergrad chem research and I realised that I can definitely see myself focusing in chemistry in the long future. At the same time, I'm on my way to finish pre-pharm (PCAT comp 76, planning to retake soon) and I am applying for this year cycle to see how it goes. I've put some thought into both programs and here's my mental breakdown:

PharmD:
Pros:
  • Fixed school courses, the program is planned. As long as I work hard then I know I am able to finish the program then get a job; and if I'm lucky then I could probably score a salary of >90,000 (compounding is prob my main focus)

Cons:
  • The job outlook seems to be saturated. Many pharmacists in IL that friend with me say that they got their hours cut this year.
  • There's nothing new, no "thriving for more" after earning the degree. Somehow obtaining the degree leaves me an impression that the person is just "another pharmacist"

PhD in Chem:
Pros:
  • Continuous research, which I enjoy doing as it gives me a sense of continuous achievement
  • Although the salary is not as high initially, the job outlook, methinks, is more diverse.
  • I love organic chemistry

Cons:
  • The amount of time it takes to finish the degree is my main concern since there's no "fixed program."