PhD level psychologist with application in process for license

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MDPsychologist

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello All, I am a PhD graduate in the process of applying for licensure in New York. I am wondering if I can take up a job in a exempt setting (non-profits) until my licensure application is reviewed by the board. I want to make sure that it would be legal. I have tried to contact the board but haven't been able to get any answers from them. Do I need to have a supervisor in such an exempt setting providing any kind of therapy? Looking forward to opinion from experts here in the forum. I am also having trouble finding any supervised position in New York. Does anyone have an experience and suggestions to help me find a position here.

Members don't see this ad.

I would not practice psychology without a license without a designated (and appropriate) supervisor. Seems pretty cut and dry to me.

Last edited:
Reactions: 1 users
Members don't see this ad :)
Depending on the timing of everything, you might check to see if you qualify for a limited permit while you are waiting for the full license. Most states have some kind of limited license process for a variety of circumstances.

I have tried to contact the board but haven't been able to get any answers from them.

This doesn't seem that complicated. Have you asked a person, "I'm in the process of applying for licensure. Can I independently practice psychology at XYZ Agency in the meantime?"