PhD (unaccredited) vs PsyD (accredited)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kleinmak

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Long story short... I entered a psychology doctoral program that was "transitioning" from a PsyD to PhD ... 5 long years later we just found out that APA denied a site visit (due to research productivity... and "politics"). This means that the program is an accredited PsyD and will not be pursuing the PhD at this time. Despite this, I have the option of graduating with an unaccredited PhD instead of the accredited PsyD.

For many reasons, including job opportunity/career goals not to mention psychological investment, I am more interested in the PhD degree. I am currently a postdoc at a very prestigious hospital/placement and completed my internship at an equally prestigious placement. Given that work history, I am not sure how important the accreditation status will be. Will the names of my internship/postdoc carry more weight? Or will I be denied occupational opportunity given what may only be a missing two words - "APA accredited" - on my CV. I doubt that I will be completing many formal applications (like internship) where it is a check box and a quick way to wean out applicants, and rather it is something I can (confidently) explain at an interview. Help please!

Members don't see this ad.

Accredited (uncle is a dept head, won't even talk to nonaccreditted in most cases)

Can you even be licensed if you didn't graduate from an accredited program?

Members don't see this ad :)
I fear that I can not (in which case null point, go with the PsyD) but it is unclear. I have literally been on hold with NY state license board for "92 minutes, 44 seconds" ... Here is what it says online (my program is not in NY so it has to be considered an "equivalent" program)...