Planning my non-trad path to med school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

StevieNicks

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

I recently decided to pursue an old dream of mine and work on applying to medical school. Now I'm trying to figure out a game plan to get me there. I've been working in the public sector for about 4 years out of undergrad (2 years public health-related). I have a bachelors degree in a biological science, so I have completed all of the pre-reqs. I've been studying for the MCAT feverishly over the last month, and plan to study a total of 450 hours before taking it. My cGPA is 3.5 and my sGPA is 3.4. I went to a competitive undergrad U with no reputation for grade inflation. However, I had a rough two quarters in Sophomore year and got Cs in Biochem., Mol. Bio., and OChemB, and a shameful D+ in OChemC. My volunteer experience is pretty pathetic, but I do have ~ 400 hours clinical internship experience that included about 40 hours of physician shadowing. However, that was over 8 years ago. So now I'm wondering if I should try to power through the application process in hopes of matriculating in 2016, or if I should hold out for another year to get some volunteer experience while taking night classes at a community college (while continuing to work full time). Also, if I go for the latter, would I be better off retaking OChem or taking other classes like psych/soc or anatomy or microbio? While I know an extra year can only help my application, I can't help but feel like my biomedical clock is ticking. For reference I'm planning to apply to all of the UC's except SF, and to USC, Drexel, Rush, and Rosalind Franklin. So, any advice? Thank you in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

...My cGPA is 3.5 and my sGPA is 3.4. I had a rough two quarters in Sophomore year and got Cs in Biochem., Mol. Bio., and OChemB, and a shameful D+ in OChemC.