Please help and old IMG with residency advice..

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dasfugi

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone at SDN, this is my first time on the forums. I am really happy I found this place. I'm not sure if I am posting this in the right forum, so if a mod finds this please kindly move it to the right one.

I am a very old IMG from a third world country. I was an OB/GYN with 10 years of experience and practice in the Middle East. I moved to the US with my family in '97 and am now trying to get back into the medical field. I have taken Step 1, 2 CK and CS. The problem I have is that I did absolutely terrible on my Step 1 and am wondering if I have any hope to find ANY residency.

I passed my Step 1 in 2007 on my 3rd try (eek..) with a 79. I was stupid and didn't research the test and thought that it only mattered if you pass/fail. On my Step 2's I passed and scored 89. I have lots of clinical observerships, hospital work, and hands-on experience with various doctors such as an OB/GYN, General Surgeon, and IM. My LORs are all great. I will take Step 3 this week as a hope to boost my application.

I applied to IM, FP, and Psych during the last match, but did not match anywhere. My dream would have been to get back into OB/GYN, but that obviously is not going to happen. I am starting to lose hope that I will EVER get into a residency program because of my dismal scores..

Is there anyone that can give me advice or recommendations on what to do with my scores/which residencies to apply to? I am really depressed with my situation and am hoping for some help. I will happily provide any other information you need. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

I passed my Step 1 in 2007 on my 3rd try (eek..) with a 79. I was stupid and didn't research the test and thought that it only mattered if you pass/fail. ...