Please Help - USMLE + NBDE (Dental Boards Part 1)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

childofthesacredheart

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I hope you guys are studying well for the USMLE.

I had a question - I am studying for my NBDE board exam - and I was wondering if I could ask for your advice.

I don't know if I should use USMLE material to study for my NBDE board exam and also for my school exams.

I will begin dental school in the fall of this year, and I am afraid that I won't know what to study. My school does not teach through lecture - instead, students have to learn through PBL (which is basically teaching yourself without any professors) - Some of the current students have told me that they don't always know what to study for the school exams - because they were never given any lecture material.

My question is - do you think that I should use Kaplan's USMLE (Step 1) prep material to study throughout the first two years of dental school and for my NBDE exam?

I know that Kaplan offers prep material for NBDE part 1 - but I called Kaplan - and their representative said straight out, "We offer very LIMITED resources for the NBDE part 1." - YIKES! That's scary!

Another reason why I want to use Kaplan USMLE material to study for the NBDE is because Kaplan gives you a series of these 7 prep books for the USMLE Step 1 - these seven books (each covering topics like Microbio, Immunology, Biochemistry, Pathology, Anatomy, etc. . .) are amazing.

Furthermore, Kaplan's prep material for the USMLE has so much more study material than Kaplan's prep for the NBDE. (the Q bank, the recorded lectures, practice exams, etc.)

I also heard that some of the Kaplan video lecture material for the USMLE is IDENTICAL to the Kaplan video lecture material for the NBDE.

Kaplan offers so little resources for the NBDE. But Kaplan offers SO MUCH study material for the USMLE.