Please help. VERY bad freshman year. Is it worth it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kbm94087

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a current first year in college, and the title pretty much says it all. I've always wanted to be a doctor. Ive grown up in a family full of them, so it's always been a dream of mine, and I'm very good and passionate in the sciences. I came into freshman year fully ready to tackle it. I felt like this semester would be a breeze, (Taking precalc, gen chem 1/lab, psych 1, seminar on molecules, dance appreciation) but boy was I wrong. I'm a student athlete at my school, so my practice schedule basically took up my entire life 6 days a week for 5.5 hours. I would stay up until 4:30-5 am every night studying. I failed the first chem test miserably, and this resulted in a strong depression in which I wouldn't sleep and lived and breathed chemistry. My boyfriend broke up with me because he couldn't take my obsession for studying chemistry. This furthered my depression. Eventually I started making A's in everything in chem, which means I'll end up with a C, but because I concentrated so much on chem I am failing my math class. I'm not the best at math, nevertheless I dropped back to college algebra, and the class was much harder than I thought. With my minimal effort, I've failed every single test. This is a huge shot to myself because I just don't know what to do anymore. What will med schools think of me when I've failed the most basic math class and got a C in chem 1? I wouldn't be worth it. I still have the overbearing passion and drive to become a doctor, but I can't live with this embarrassment of my first semester of college. It has been terrible. Next semester I am taking Chem 2, bio 2, a psych class, and a required anthro class, and I've pretty much decided that I will be fully dedicated to my studies. I'm at the point that I'm constantly chanting that I WILL be an A