Please help

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Chelsea FC

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello i just wanted to ask if i should give up my hopes of going med school.. I have got a C in cell and molecular biology and a F in organic chemistry 2. I will be retaking organic chemistry and changing that F into a A.I also got a C in a English class some time back will this hurt my chances of getting into med school ?? I am a international student from the Caribbean (black). If i get a green card will that also increase my chances of getting into a medical school . My GPA will be a 3.6 by the end of the term

Members don't see this ad.

Wait how did you get an F. The mean you basically did nothing

Considering you got several C's and F, 3.6 GPA is certainly not as bad as it could have been.

How are other biology pre req courses? Are they all A's or B's, except this cell and molecular? If it's just one C among all those biology courses, maybe it is not that big of concern. I would focus more on getting a better grade on that organic chemistry as you already mentioned. That's unequivocally a must.

Did you take more English classes in addition to that C in a English class a while back? If your schedule is inflexible and very busy because of other ECs, I wouldn't retake English and cell/molecular. Since you need a year of English courses, try to ace the other English class instead and hopefully you can show you can do better.

Overall, It's somewhat debatable whether you should retake to change those 2 C's. If they are among a lot of A's and B's in your transcript, I personally don't think they will be a big deal especially since your overall GPA is 3.5+. Someone can correct me if I am wrong on this topic.

About the green card, yes, it increases your chances.

Members don't see this ad :)
Wait how did you get an F. The mean you basically did nothing