Please tell me if I would be accepted or if I'm out of the running

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hapmp

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've lurked here for awhile and decided to register to ask for some advice because I plan on applying to grad school (clinical psych PhD) this fall.

I am in my last semester of undergrad getting my BA in psychology and wanted to know if my lack of publications or clinical work would essentially exclude me from the running for these programs.

I'm from the Chicagoland area and will be applying to Loyola, University of Illinois-Chicago, and Northwestern, at least.

My GPA is 3.85, my GRE is around 1300, I am interning at a Montessori school this semester, and I can get some great recommendations from some of my PhD psych professors.

Based on these stats and this internship I'll be doing (and I'll be trying to get a recommendation from the head of the Montessori school), will I still be a good candidate to get into one of these programs, or will my lack of publication and clinical work exclude me in favor of students with either or both of these two qualifications?

A related question is, my father is a graduate of University of Illinois-Chicago with a BS and an MD, would I be able to use this family connection to give myself a "leg-up" in the running for a clinical psych PhD program at the same school or are the two programs not closely related enough to warrant any advantage from the school?

I would be forever grateful for any help and advice on these issues, especially if anyone has detailed knowledge of any of these programs at Loyola, UIC, and Northwestern.

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Do you have any research experience whatsoever, even if it doesn't include publications?

As for the last question, no, I don't think it will help.