Post-Bacc questions

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Medschooldreamer88

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone! I have a couple questions. I am a post-bacc student. My first degree is in elementary education from Western Governors University, a non-profit online school. It is a regionally and nationally accredited school. However, the school's grading system is entirely pass/fail. I passed all of the classes for that degree however, I am now returning to school to hopefully become a doctor at another University (regular, four year school in VA). I am in my second to last semester finishing a second degree in Biology. I have a 3.97 GPA in this program currently. I have completed about 200 hours volunteering, been a research assistant in a lab for a year (completed an independent study in this) and completed about 100 shadowing hours. Will be taking the MCAT this spring 2016. I am wondering what your opinion is on how my previous degree will affect my chances of getting into medical school? How will the p/f classes affect my cumulative GPA on the application for AMCAS? Thank you in advance for your input.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am by no means an expert, but have spent large amounts of time researching medical school requirements for a while.

Everything I have come across from public and private institutions alike say the same thing: medical schools do not look favorably upon online classes, or combined (part online and part on campus) classes.

Which is understandable but frustrating. I was attempting to take classes at a local public university but ran into the problem of few night classes being available. Those that were were in a community college, online, or integrated.