PhD/PsyD Post-Doc in State different from licensure exam?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Phipps

Post-Doctoral Fellow
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi All:

So, I just moved to a new home and State and was thinking about applying to post-docs different than the state I live in. How much sense does it make to do a post-doc in a State I will not get licensed in?? TIA

Members don't see this ad.

I did a postdoc in a state that I had no intention of staying in once I finished. Several colleagues did the same. I think it's quite common. I got licensed in another state while I was a postdoc. I actually still have that same license and work in a totally different state than that license is (I work for the VA).

Reactions: 1 user
Pretty sure that's common. More than half the postdocs in my program sought licensure in the state the plan to work/live in, not the one they did their postdoc in.

Members don't see this ad :)
Pretty sure that's common. More than half the postdocs in my program sought licensure in the state the plan to work/live in, not the one they did their postdoc in.

Yup, same here, myself included. I don't think it is an issue, at all.

Just adding another "ditto" to the pile. So long as your supervisors meeting the requirement of being a "supervisor" and are able (and willing) to sign off on your hours in the state in which you want to get licensed, it shouldn't be a problem.

I finish my postdoc in Georgia this August. I started the process of getting licensed in Georgia because I was unsure about where I was getting a job. I took the EPPP and passed and then found out I got a job in Kentucky (around March) that I accepted. So I didn't go through the orals and state licensure process for Georgia and switched to Kentucky. It was not a huge issue (other than Georgia would not refund me the application fees so I had to pay fees for Georgia and Kentucky).