Pre-dental student here - came to pre-medical forums in search for advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

bobbylee123

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

This isn't a post where I am changing from pre-dental to pre-medical because I needed a back up or anything. I just came to this sub-forum because I know that there are several people here that are willing to help, including some of the admission committees for medical school. Perhaps some people here will have a better knowledge of personal statements than I do.

I am a Texas resident and will be applying to dental schools through TMDSAS. Some of you may be familiar with the required prompts. One of the required prompts involves with personal characteristics. Here is the prompt:

Learning from others is enhanced in educational settings that include individuals from diverse backgrounds and experiences. Please describe your personal characteristics (background, talents, skills, etc.) or experiences that would add to the educational experience of others.

Can you talk about overcoming adversity for this question?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
This seems very tangential to the question being asked.

I think it's a good start. You don't want to linger on the emotional aspect too much. Try instead to emphasize your strengths. Elaborate on your personal characteristics, insight, and actions taken when you were confronted with the unexpected loss of both parents. In emphasizing on your strengths through accounts of your relevant experience, you can then apply it to something relevant to the dental profession. And if it's applicable to the dental profession, it has educational value for your peers.