Pre-Med Prerequisites

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medhopeful06

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all!
I am a nontraditional student at a small southern Louisiana university, hoping to attend med school after undergrad. I am currently majoring in business (I am a sophomore), and have been told by the physicians I've shadowed that is doesn't matter what your major is/was, as long as you complete the required med school prereqs. My advisor contacted the Dean of Sciences about my plans to take a year to complete the classes and the dean emailed me and stated the prerequisites are the "absolute minimum". He then went on to say that unless I was pre-med I probably would not make it into medical school. :confused:
My question is, how many of you took just the prerequisites and were admitted to med school?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I am not a med student yet, but i might be able to help you out. Pre-med isnt a major, and the physicians were right that you can major in anything youd like, including business. The required courses are a minimum, and having other science courses on your transcripts could help, but the most important thing is to have extracurricular stuff like volunteering, shadowing, and other meaningful experiences. Good luck.

Your Dean is misinformed. While science majors may have an advantage with high level science classes, the prerequisites alone will prep you sufficiently for the MCAT. In addition medical schools like John Hopkins have a great interest in students without a science major, and you would stand out to other medical schools who have a plethora of Biology majors. However, if your gpa is low in any major it will be very difficult to compete with other premeds.

Members don't see this ad :)