Pre-Med Questions about Military Medicine

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

JPSmyth

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, I am an undergrad currently applying to medical schools. For the past year or so I have been thinking about going into military medicine at some point in my career. I don't think I necessarily want a full career in the military, but I would like to serve my country for a few years, and get the experiences that one can only get in the military.

It seems hard to find all of the information about this, so I wanted to ask on here. I don't think I plan on applying to USUHS, the time commitment seems really long from what I've looked into. (Residency + 7 years, 4 active?)

My plan is to attend a regular medical school, complete a residency, and then once I am a board certified physician to join. From what I am seeing, the time commitment is 2 years active duty for the Navy.

I wanted to ask some questions...
2 years active duty means being deployed somewhere overseas (or in the states?), but in between those stints, would I be working in a VA hospital?

Is it 4 year commitment with 2 years active duty?

How long is each deployment usually?

Where are some examples of usual places physicians are deployed?

Basically any input you guys can give me would be helpful. Every website just gives a very broad overview of the process. Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

My plan is to attend a regular medical school, complete a residency, and then once I am a board certified physician to join. From what I am seeing, the time commitment is 2 years active duty for the Navy.

So you are asking a question about something that will occur in 8-10 years?...Why don't you focus on getting into med school first and then getting into residency? Just saying from personal experience that 8-10 years ago I did not know I wanted to go to medical school.