Pre-Med Requirement 5 Year Plan

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kdo0251

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey!

I am currently a freshman in college, going to be a Sophomore, on the Pre-Med path and was wondering, what are people's thought (and/or medical schools) on spacing out all your Pre-Med Requirement? For example, taking one larger science each semester, such as Biology during Sophomore Year, General Chem Junior, Organic Chem Senior, Physics 5th year with Psych, Soci, and Biochem somewhere during the four years.

Has anyone done that before? Is it looked down upon?

Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Bad idea. If you can't take at least two hard sciences in a semester, then med school may not be such a good option.

Moreover, you will just forget everything by the end of your hypothetical 5th year.

Reactions: 5 users
Pointless. You can take more than one or two science classes a semester and do perfectly well. It really only takes two years to get all of the pre-reqs done with a reasonable (15hour) course load. I'm all for taking more time in (or after) college if there are opportunities you want to pursue or have things you feel you need to do but if the only reason is to take lighter, more relaxed semesters then I think it's utterly pointless.

Members don't see this ad :)
You tryna take a redshirt year AND one 1 requirement a semester? Whew

Hey!

I am currently a freshman in college, going to be a Sophomore, on the Pre-Med path and was wondering, what are people's thought (and/or medical schools) on spacing out all your Pre-Med Requirement? For example, taking one larger science each semester, such as Biology during Sophomore Year, General Chem Junior, Organic Chem Senior, Physics 5th year with Psych, Soci, and Biochem somewhere during the four years.

Thank you!