Pre-Med Schools

Juniper97

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a dedicated student, but for most of my high school career I've struggled with depression and OCD, resulting in a lower GPA than I would have achieved otherwise (weighted: 3.0, unweighted: 2.6). I got a 31 on the ACT, but I think I could bring it up when I retake it. My question is, what good research institutions heavily weight the ACT? Are there any good ones? I'm looking for undergraduate schools that allow students to do research as well. I'm planning on a double major in Biology and Anthropology, but things can change. Would any professors even consider giving me research opportunities due to my former lower grades?

Members don't see this ad.

I can't really answer the ACT question, but once you get into a college, professors won't care about your high school grades (at least where I went). Also, the best pre-med school is the cheapest one with the fewest pre-meds. If you really want to go to medical school, it doesn't matter where you go to college.

As radkat said, once you have accepted to a college, you can completely forget about your high school grades. During undergrad, I can't remember ever being asked about high school. As for research, I would imagine just about every college has at least some opportunities for research. If I were you, I wouldn't worry about doing research my first semester or two. Get a feel for college life and get to know your professors. If you can show them that you can handle it, I'm sure they would be more willing to help you get started in research.

Members don't see this ad :)
I would think almost every college has some sort of research. Once you get into college your grades really don't matter. That sounds great doubling majoring in Anthropology and Biology (I really wanted to major in Anthropology :nod: but I decided to just major in Biology, or preferably Ecology if the school offers it, and I may minor in something like Political Science or Anthropology).