Pre Medical Post Bacc Programs in DC, MD

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

qwertyuiop1

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everybody, I'm in my last semester of undegrad and am hopefully one day praying to get into med school. I have a 3.0 GPA and am looking into pre med post bacc programs in order to complete my med school pre req classes. I spoke with my advisor about enrolling in my universities pre med program (which I just found out they had) and she told me that since I didn't have a 3.2 GPA as one of their requirements to get into the program, that my chances were slim. However she spoke with the person in charge of the program and said that there are ways around the GPA requirement, being work experience in the health field. I worked for a plastic surgeon for a year as a surgical tech, and I just finished a summer internship for one of the leading psychiatrist practices in the area. I did a lot of research and have a letter of recommendation waiting for me as well from the both doctors. One attended Georgetown Medical school and the other graduated from George Washington Med and also conducts lectures at Georgetown Med as well. Oh, I go to American University btw and I know of UMD, Georgetown, Hopkins, and UVA that also have post bacc programs as well. How do you think my chances are for getting into any of these programs? Anyone who has been enrolled in one of these programs and can help with any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again.

Members don't see this ad.