Pre-reqs for the new MCAT? (and other questions)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

SylvieK

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Does anyone know if med schools are going to change their requirements for the new mcat?
I see that psychology, sociology, and biochem sections are added to the new mcat but wonder if that also means those subjects will become pre-req.

I'm going to take biochem no matter what but not sure about the other 2 subjects.

My other questions are,

1. What are the percentages of med school that requires math? Is there such data? I heard most schools in California do want to see 1yr of calculus but what about the rest of the country?
Is there a page on AAMC for such topic?

2. I have a master's degree and GPA is 3.9-4.0
Would this also be counted for the admission or is it only the pre-req GPA?
In other words, I wonder if my GPA from the undergrad and grad school is as important as that of pre-req.

Thanks a lot for answering my questions in advance!

Members don't see this ad.

Biochem is a new requirement for some schools, many others just suggest it. I would suggest that you look at the school's website for that information or call them. Calculus falls into the same category as biochem, some schools require it whereas others do not. You need to look at the school you desire. You can print out a list of all med schools in U.S from AAMC, just go to the states you are interested in and go down the schools checking for requirements. If you are looking into something like Yale or Duke, yes you need all of the above. If you are looking at a state school, ehh....could go either way. I personally say take a biochem class and calculus even if not required, but I understand that is not feasible for everyone.