Precedex Bolus- no loading dose.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sevoflurane

Ride
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Who does it and what is your mcg/kg dose? Any side effects or problems? What cases?

I have a partner that does it all the time... puts 200mcgs into 100CC bag and uses it for a day or two. Just curious who else uses it this way. For long fusions I do the standard loading dose over 5-10 minutes and then switch to an infusion, +ketamine, +small amount of narcs. Other than that I use it very selectively as it's not a cheap drug. Wondering if anyone has had any problems with patients who are wired with a strong vagal system after a dex bolus.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm using it primarily in the ICU for sedation, either on or off the vent. I don't load, although I typically start the infusion kind of high (1-1.2 mcg/kg/hr) and taper down, so it's sort of like a load.

As a resident, I used it a few times for sedation for awake FOBI. For that indication, I would load 20-40 mcg (20 at a time, slow IV push).

I also liked the 20-40 mcg bolus for sedation on short ortho cases with good blocks.

I did a fair amount of neuro (heads and backs) with dex and sufentanil, and I did not routinely load those cases.

Had a partner push a significant bolus. Patient got brady (HR = 19) and hypotensive. Partner took my epi drip from the heart room. Patient did fine with pharmacologic pacing (epi). Precedex eventually wore off, but it took several hours....

Who does it and what is your mcg/kg dose? Any side effects or problems? What cases?