premed wreck

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nervouspremed2

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
hey SDN,
i have 3.53 cGPA and 3.49 sGPA with a 28 MCAT. I am a NJ resident. I have 600+ hours of research, 300+ hours of hospital volunteering, 100+ hours shadowing, 1000+ in community service, 300+ in tutoring. i applied to colleges such as

-Drexel
-NYMC
-UMDNJ
-Commonwealth
-SUNY downstate
-Albany
-Buffalo
-Cooper
-NJMS
-Rosy Franklin
-Maryland
-Penn State
-Temple
-Jefferson
-Hofstra

The only one i have heard back from is Cooper and they rejected me. Any advice for me? btw i was complete with all by around the last week of august/first week of september.

i also added DO schools such as

-UMDNJ
-PCOM

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Not sure what you expected. You are at the lower end of the MD applicant competitiveness pool. Maybe you'll get some II's in February?

Why didn't you go DO heavy at the start of the cycle?

i guess it didn't add when i edited but i also applied to lecom, touro, and nyit

but you think i have no shot at MD schools? looking at schools like penn state the MCAT is a 30 so i thought i would have a shot at the school

btw my committee told me i have great lors

Members don't see this ad :)
i guess it didn't add when i edited but i also applied to lecom, touro, and nyit

but you think i have no shot at MD schools? looking at schools like penn state the MCAT is a 30 so i thought i would have a shot at the school

I didn't say that you had no shot. I said you are at the bottom-level of competitiveness number-wise. If you do interview and get into MD school, it will be later in the cycle.

From your original post, you suggested that you applied to DO schools late in the game. If that's true, you may have shot yourself in the foot from a timing perspective.

i applied mid-august to all those schools. is that too late?