Preparing to Reapply

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

YungBrev

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
So I am currently going through this application cycle for both DO and MD schools and am receiving much more bad news than good news. Because of this, I am already trying to prepare for bettering my application for next cycle.

I'm graduating in December with a degree in Human Physiology. I have good letters of recommendation, I have very good extracurriculars, but I have done no research, and my 1st MCAT 499 (126, 125, 125, 123), cGPA 3.15, sGPA about the same. I have plenty of shadowing experience, both with MD and DO. If I do well this semester I should be able to raise my GPA to over 3.2, maybe to 3.25.

Trying to put together a little bit of a plan for the future, but it's somewhat hard considering I don't know if I will get in somewhere this cycle so I can't commit to anything yet. I should have a much better idea about my chances come Christmas time. If by then I don't get in, my ideas are:
-(definitely) retake the MCAT in the spring.
-(maybe) get a research job and work from this winter into the summer of 2017.
-(maybe) take 2 science courses while working part time, like biochem and advanced anatomy or something.
-(maybe) take a full semester of classes {not particularly in favor of this}.
-(maybe) get a full-time job in a healthcare setting.

Basically, I was looking for some advice on how to successfully reapply. I'm very open to ideas, and would love to hear advice from successful applicants and reapplicants. Any advice would be very helpful.

Members don't see this ad.

Sounds like a plan! To convince MD schools that you can handle med school, you really should do a SMP, or take a least a year's worth of challenging courses (ie, a DIY post-bac).

This is a marathon, not a sprint. Med schools aren't going anywhere.