Prereqs Online?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

amjmmkd

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone. I am a non-traditional student pursuing my postbac courses. I am finishing my M.P.H. this year and I work in the non profit field around the intersection of infectious disease and recent immigrants. A brief history to contextualize: I had a rough beginning in undergraduate for 2 semesters, but after transferring schools, graduated with a 3.49 GPA from the latter university, was on the Dean's list, the honors society for my humanities major, was a teaching assistant, was twice chosen to present my research at conferences, and pursued multiple internships (related to healthcare, but more on the policy/advocacy side) and received excellent recommendation letters. Since then, I have been working and pursuing my Masters. Before beginning my postbac sequence, I had only fulfilled the following science/math courses: Statistics (B+), Biostatistics at Graduate Level (A-), "The Human Body" (Introductory Biology Course: B+, Lab A-, 4 Credits). This past semester, I completed Gen Chem I with a C+ and what the school (a small, very selective liberal arts school specializing in the sciences) typifies as the first Biology course for the premed track with a B-. I, as well as many other students in similar positions, are experiencing anxiety around the school's somewhat notorious lack of grade inflation when juxtaposed with some other institutions. However, I am hoping that the school's reputation will be of some consideration and that medical schools/osteopathic schools policy on "C or better" is because they actually do accept Cs! :) However, this presents an additional challenge in maintaining momentum on the trajectory itself as Orgo is obviously contingent upon maintaining a C or better in Gen Chem.