Prior authorization in pharmacies

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ZakMeister

RPh
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I don't get why Pharmacies can't do prior authorizations of almost any medication that needs one, as some contracted "specialty" pharmacies are allowed by PBMs to submit PA's for biologics like Humira/Prolia etc. What makes a certain pharmacy or even a drug eligible for a PA ?

Sent from my iPhone using SDN mobile

Members don't see this ad.

I don't get why Pharmacies can't do prior authorizations of almost any medication that needs one, as some contracted "specialty" pharmacies are allowed by PBMs to submit PA's for biologics like Humira/Prolia etc. What makes a certain pharmacy or even a drug eligible for a PA ?

I work as a prior authorization pharmacist. You're correct, we don't accept information from most retail pharmacies. The prior auth process is mostly a diagnosis review, along with formulary alternatives, lab results (T score, LDL level, etc), chart notes, etc. Most retail pharmacist don't even know what the medication is being prescribed for.

I work as a prior authorization pharmacist. You're correct, we don't accept information from most retail pharmacies. The prior auth process is mostly a diagnosis review, along with formulary alternatives, lab results (T score, LDL level, etc), chart notes, etc.

I am gonna assume you work for a PBM then. So the specialty pharmacists contract with you guys for certain biologics that require PAs correct?I used Approve rx a lot for processing those docs and faxing them over to the insurance companies. For CVS n Walgreens, I believe their specialty branch takes care of it

Members don't see this ad :)