Prison/Correctional Psychiatry

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

phattestlewt

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a recent graduate of a 4 year university and have started looking more aggressively into residencies, namely psychiatry. (I wish I could do psychiatry without having to do med school, it seems likes like an unnecessary, long, and costly trifle, but sacrifices need to be made). Psychiatry seems like it offers a fresh and unique experience everyday, with meaningful patient interaction, and the potential to do a lot of good.

More specifically, I came across prison psychiatry and it sounds really interesting.

Can anyone who's worked in the field give me a better perspective of what the average day is like?

Do you have therapy sessions with the patients/inmates. I really value this aspect of psychiatry and, after doing some research, found out that it's dying out as medicine becomes more commodified 'pill-pushing.' Any truth to this?

What journey does one typically take through med school, residency, fellowship? to land a job in prison psychiatry.

Also, what's the pay like?

Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

I wish I could do psychiatry without having to do med school, it seems likes like an unnecessary, long, and costly trifle
Do you have therapy sessions with the patients/inmates. I really value this aspect of psychiatry and, after doing some research, found out that it's dying out as medicine becomes more commodified 'pill-pushing.'

Is there a reason you're interested in psychiatry and not psychology?

Is there a reason you're interested in psychiatry and not psychology?

Ideally, I would love to go into psychiatry- no doubt about it, but I'd rather take the med school route as a backup in case things don't turn out the way I expect them to.

Members don't see this ad :)