Private Practice: A Word of Caution

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Triken

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi ya'll, I'm in my second year of M.S.W. program.

Had originally planned for clinical psychology but figured L.C.S.W was easier route.

In my first year we learned the history of social work, and its roots in social justice. Something which at the time I didn't care about. A professor flat out told us that social workers who go into private practice and treat financially well-off clients aren't doing social work.

Many students are still planning to go into private practice and make $$. But I decided it wasn't for me, and that social justice was too important. That is what makes social work different from all the other professions. I actually think we can make great clinicians for this reason, because we are aware of not just of the person, but also the person-in-environment.

My word of caution is: care about social justice. If all you want to do is treat people with mental illness, don't be a social worker. Of course, you can and many people do. But in my opinion you will be better off in school and work if you embrace the heart of our profession.

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
My word of caution is: care about social justice. If all you want to do is treat people with mental illness, don't be a social worker .

How is treating individuals with mental illnes not social justice? Last time I checked, social justice was the action of insuring the welfare and just treatment other human beings by providing direct services or providing access to oppourtunities and resources.

Social justice does not require taking vows of poverty or low wages. Nobody is being "ordained" when they get their MSW.

Last edited:
Reactions: 7 users