Probable Re-applicant. Am I doing the right thing during this cycle?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

invisibleman023

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys, so I'm a TX resident ORM with 3.4 cGPA 3.3 sGPA and 35 MCAT who went to a Top 10 UG and engineering major.

Usual ECs:

- 3 research publications
-Volunteering experience domestic and international
-Shadowing experience domestic and international
-Leadership in several clubs

I am currently applying this cycle and am about to start a post-bac/SMP program to show medical schools my continued upward trend (3.7 GPA senior year).

Am I taking the right steps for Reapplication? I just want to make sure before I spend $$ on this program.

Members don't see this ad.

When and where did you apply last year?

When and where did you apply last year?

Sorry if I wasn't clear, but this cycle is the first time I'm applying. Im just asking if in the likely case that I have to reapply next cycle, am I doing the right things this gap year to succeed next cycle? I just want to make sure before I spend $$ on this SMP program.

Members don't see this ad :)
Sorry if I wasn't clear, but this cycle is the first time I'm applying. Im just asking if in the likely case that I have to reapply next cycle, am I doing the right things this gap year to succeed next cycle? I just want to make sure before I spend $$ on this SMP program.
Where are you applying this cycle? You are definitely competitive enough to get a spot in a TX school.

Where are you applying this cycle? You are definitely competitive enough to get a spot in a TX school.

all texas schools + schools in my UG institution state + Tulane, Emory, VCU, Vtech, GW, Georgetown, NYMC, Albany, Jefferson, Drexel, Temple, Oakland, Quinnipiac.

But I have a feeling Tx instate will be my only real shot at MD. I have two concerns about it:
My TMDSAS sGPA (no +/-) is down to 3.1 and cGPA is still 3.4