Prof Writing LOR asks for Transcript, grades bad :-/

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

theWUbear

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I started a one-year post-bacc with a summer course in cell bio, and finished as one of the top students in the class. I then asked the prof for an LOR, because i'm applying to SGU right now in case my more grandiose plans of making up for my current GPA & MCAT fall through.

He said he'd love to write for me since I've met with him many times for overall advice in addition to performing well in his class.

Then he said, send me a personal statement so I know why you want to become a doctor. And a copy of your transcript. :O

Granted, he knows I'm a post-bacc student (and therefore not in medical school, after completing the premed prereqs)...so he can't think i'm the most perfect student in the world, but if he sees my 2.6 GPA I would imagine thats not going to do great things for his opinion of me. I guess my best bet is to explain the situation to him and hope my actions in front of him speak louder than my past record? Any tips on how i should move forward?

Members don't see this ad.

Don't overthink it, just give him the transcript. You're doing great now, and he can put that in context in a positive light (or just leave it out). He's not out to screw you over. More likely than not, he'll end up writing something like, "theWUbear has grown since his undergrad experience, earning a place as one of the top students in my class."

Don't worry, just give him the PS and transcript, and let him do his thing.