Programs strong in OB/ have OB tracks

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medmom

10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a third year medical student that is very interested in rural family medicine. The area that I want to practice in doesn't have any OB/GYNs for about 70 miles. Therefore, I want to be trained and proficient in both vaginal and C/S deliveries. What programs are very strong in OB, have OB tracks or have OB fellowships? I am originally from Colorado and would love to return to the west but I am not opposed to other places for residency.

Members don't see this ad.

Three hopefully helpful resources:

* The AAFP and STFM maintain a Fellowship Directory for Family Medicine. Note that besides the list of Obstetrics fellowships, most or all of the Rural fellowships include or can include OB, and under Other Types of Fellowships there are fellowships in Women's Health which also do or may.

* The American Board of Family Medicine Obstetrics, cf. recent thread, maintains a list of family medicine obstetrics fellowships they have approved.

At least one famous program with both rural and OB fellowships, Ventura, somehow missed both lists as of this writing. So you may also want to check individual programs.

* Further great reading, addressing residencies and fellowships alike: Wm. MacMillan Rodney's How to Locate Residencies Where Procedural & OB Skills are Taught (Enthusiastically). Fans of full-scope family medicine could spend days at Dr. Rodney's Procedural Skills and Office Technology archive and blog.

You should definitely check out the UC Davis combined Family Medicine/OB residency program. You'll learn how to do vaginal deliveries and C-sections. It's a four year program.

Members don't see this ad :)