About the ads

Programs that provide the hardest extern months

Discussion in 'Podiatric Residents & Physicians' started by Ankle Breaker, Oct 12, 2011.

1. SDN is a nonprofit organization. Services are made possible through the generous support of SDN members and sponsors. Thank you.
  1. Ankle Breaker

Ankle Breaker Senior Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Podiatrist SDN 2+ Year Member

SDN Members don't see this ad. (About Ads)
    Here is the scenario:

If I'm a P3 student who is looking for ONE program that I'm not interested in matching into but will really kick my butt and get me prepared for the rest of my externships what program will that be? I know doing one month won't make me 100% prepared but I think you know where I am going with this.

I'm not really sure any current or future P3 can confidently say they are/ will be ready for anything that comes their way when they get to their first externship month. You simply don't get enough exposure to the full range of possible lower extremity medical issues in clinic.

So again what programs out there really push their externs to the limit?

Any comments from the residents or new attendings are welcomed and very much appreciated.
  2. DPMer

DPMer

Podiatry Student
    Penn Presbyterian Hospital in Philadelphia, PA
  3. Feli

Feli ACFAS Member

Attending Physician
    SDN 5+ Year Member
    DeKalb in Atlanta or West Penn would be my top picks; the hours are long and they stay busy... so it will seem like "all downhill" on other rotations afterwards. They both are highly academic, and programs which are almost always teaching you or keeping you busy with surg or pt care... not just "hard for the sake of being hard." I had a pretty good exp at Penn-Presby also, and they teach well... but you will generally see many more complex clinic pts at West Penn and see and get involved in much more surg and a bit more teaching at DeKalb (cadaver lab here is a great bonus too for student hands-on surg exp).