Pros and Cons: Pediatric Anesthesiology vs. Cardio-Thoracic Anesthesiology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AK_MD2BE

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know, I know. Some of you will see that I am only a medical student and think, "He's not even in residency yet, why is he worrying about a fellowship?" Well, pretty simple really. I know that I want to do a fellowship, and I don't want to move my family for only 1 year after residency is over. Therefore, I would like to do my residency at a place where I could stay for an additional year to do my fellowship. So, what are the pro's and con's of pediatric anesthesiology vs. cardio-thoracic ("hearts" as I've heard it called) anesthesiology. Thanks for your knowledge and insight. :)

Members don't see this ad.

I know, I know. Some of you will see that I am only a medical student and think, "He's not even in residency yet, why is he worrying about a fellowship?"

You can read minds???

Well, pretty simple really. I know that I want to do a fellowship, :)

You know that you want to do it now but that could change. Fellowship programs come and go. There are tons of mitigating factors that go into a fellowship location and they shouldn't be made in medical school.

With all that said, I would choose hearts over peds for reimbursement reasons.

I, personally, would never do Pediatric anesthesia. Why? Because I really like kids.

-copro

Members don't see this ad :)
I, personally, would never do Pediatric anesthesia. Why? Because I really like kids.

-copro

Could you elaborate? I'm not in my clinical years yet, but was thinking either Peds or Peds Anesthesia.

How does the reimbursement after a peds fellowship compare to general anesthesia? I know that for a lot of peds subspecialties, you make the same or less than you would as a general pediatrician.