PSA: What Upper-Level Biology Classes Should I take (Pre-2015 MCAT edition)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Redpancreas

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Disclaimers: First, let me say I'm a bit removed from the process now as I'm a soon to be M1 so I'm writing this on the old MCAT for those stragglers still taking it. Next let me also point out the obvious that my opinions (YES THESE ARE OPINIONS) are limited to my class experiences at my undergraduate institution. Also, keep in mind that this PSA is only for those planning on taking the old (AKA pre-2015 MCAT).

My qualifications: I studied and took the MCAT twice and scored in the 95th percentile the second time around. Not only do I know what the MCAT demands because I studied for it twice and exhausted ALL the valuable resources (Berkeley, Princeton, EK, AAMC), but I also have taken a lot of upper level courses at my undergraduate university and know the gist behind what you learn in each. Lastly, I took tests and screenings to qualify to be an MCAT instructor and taught two biology sessions so I pretty much reviewed the material two more times, haha. I also tutored all the bio, chem, and physics for my undergraduate institution and reviewed content there as well.

Purpose:

I decided to write this because I've seen a lot of questions regarding what upper level biology classes one should take. The first thing I want to get out of the way is the notion that taking upper level biology as a means to improve your application is flawed. All admissions is looking for is that you got A's and completed your prerequisites. That being said, someone who did very poorly in General Biology stands a chance of slightly redeeming themselves by performing better in an upper level biology class.

Now, here is a ranking for the upper level classes you should take to improve your understanding for the MCAT.

1. Physiology

2. Biochemistry

3. Genetics