Psychiatry: Is it worth it?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Maeloryne

Undergrad
7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I am currently an undergraduate student and I am a Psychology major. I have a pre-med concentration, so don't worry I am getting my science classes in! I want to become a Psychiatrist, but I have a few questions that I hope you guys can clarify:
1) Should a Psychiatrist become a DO or MD? What are the benefits to each?
2) Is the salary of a Psychiatrist worth it with all of the schooling debt?
3) Is it possible to have a family while being a Psychiatrist? Family is very important to me, but I will be in my early 30's when I finally become licensed and don't want to miss out on having my own family.

Any responses are appreciated - Thank you

Members don't see this ad.

Google searches:
1) "psychiatrists"+"DO vs. MD" site:forums.studentdoctor.net
2) "psychiatrists"+"salary"
3) "psychiatry"+"work life" site:forums.studentdoctor.net

Would give you a wealth of information. 15+ years of SDN conversations. Obviously these topics come up organically and regularly. If you know basic research skills you probably wouldn't bother making this thread.

Reactions: 1 user
1. does not matter
2. yes- same as any doctor
3. yes, depending on how you decide to work

Reactions: 2 users
Members don't see this ad :)
I actually just wanted input from people going through these things, not some web search. Jerk.

MD tend to match better than DOs given similar scores. DO schools tend to cost more so I would try the MD route first and DO second. Although some DO students state that DO was their intended preference, most people play it MD first then DO. MD schools are a bit harder to get into, but this by itself is an argument for trying.

I actually just wanted input from people going through these things, not some web search. Jerk.