Psychiatry vs Clinical Psychology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted388502

Hi All,

I'm sure that this is a really common question and I've searched all the threads and read as much as possible, but I'd like as much insight into my personal situation as I can get as I'm really struggling right now.

I'm a sophomore Neuroscience major at a top 50 university with a 3.6 GPA, I made A's and B+'s in gen chem, I'm looking at the B+ to A range for ochem depending on how my final goes, but I'm finding myself unmotivated for finding a reason to go to medical school. It has been what I've wanted my whole life but I'm finding lately I really am only interested in it because I want to go into psychiatry. I want to be able to do therapy though, and from what I've read psychiatrists have the options to do therapy but the $$ comes from drug appointments, etc. I don't particularly care about the $$ as long as I'm making a decent living but I'm starting to wonder whether it's really worth putting myself through medical school when I could go just get a Ph.D in clinical?

My interests are primarily in eating disorders. I've worked in a research lab for all of undergrad thus far, and I run neuropsych consultations. I want to work with patients with eating disorders by doing therapy and my research interests are finding the neurological basis behind eating disorders. I was slightly interested in neurosurgery/emergency medicine early on, but all of it seems equally interesting to me I guess. I guess the lifestyle of clinical psychology where eventually you can set your own hours appeals to me. I know getting a Ph.D isn't easier but the work sounds more interesting and up my alley. I know I could get through medical school, I just don't know if I'd be happy with my decision to go by the end.