Pupil Dilation and Retinal Damage

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

loveoforganic

-Account Deactivated-
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
What do you all do to protect from retinal damage in those patients whose medications cause dilated pupils? Some of the patients I work with have pupils essentially the size of their irises, but don't have any shades or whatnot. So, assuming damage is being done if the eyes are left unprotected (if it isn't, why not?), what's done to keep that from happening?

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I only had one patient where bright light was an issue. It tended to set off seizures in him. He wore a hat & sunglasses at all times as a result.

He ended up going to inpatient, and he was forced to take them off because it was a policy not to wear those items. I informed the staff what was going on, but since at that time I was a resident, it wasn't up to me--it was up to the attending. I told him--he didn't do anything about it--the guy ended up having a seizure.

I do go over sunlight & heat with patients, especially those on antipsychotics & lithium. I remind them to stay out of the heat & direct light. I however have not had any problems with patients on the sunlight issue.

Members don't see this ad :)
I can't think of any psyche meds offhand that have many issues with the eyes, except for Seroquel--where the data on it causing cataracts in beagles (which was largely debunked, but the warning's still there).

I have yet to see any doctor make their patients see an opthalmologist because that person is on Seroquel---

yet a large number of people do develop cataracts...
From wikipedia...
In the United States, age-related lenticular changes have been reported in 42% of those between the ages of 52 to 64,[12] 60% of those between the ages 65 and 74,[13] and 91% of those between the ages of 75 and 85.[12]