PhD/PsyD question about "functional" view of mental health and illness

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Sonyax

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm not a psych PhD student though I've taken college level psychology courses (cognitive and social mostly). My major is mathematics. I wanted to get a good answer to my question but in part I don't think my classmates know the answer and in part I'm embarrassed to ask my professor. So I found this wonderful forum and thought to ask here.

The thing is I'm hooked on Dr Phil. That's the embarrassing part. Because I am by principle against reality type shows. Now here's the question: Very often Dr Phil asks the people on his show, "How is that working for you?" I used to think that was brilliant. It seems so mechanical, so precise, not touchy feely at all. In other words, you're not asking the person to imagine to get in touch with their "inner child" but to look specifically at how some behavior is working or not working.

But then it occurred to me while watching his show a few days ago...the answer is never that clear! First off, working for WHO? And is it short term or long term? Also what about ethics? And what if something is working when it's about getting a particular thing you want but not something else equally important? And sometimes the person may not be after the right kind of thing in the first place (a drug addict's behavior to get drugs).