Question for Anesthesia Residents

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DrBB

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently a 3rd year medical student and am very interested in pursuing anesthesiology as a career. My question is to the residents out there - I was wondering if you guys are taught all of the basic hands-on procedures in your first year?

As I am finishing my 3rd year (I have not yet done surgery), I realized that I have not had a whole lot of experience doing things like starting IV's, doing blood draws, placing lines, etc. On my ER rotation, I was able to do some of these things but never did enough to become proficient at them.

I am assuming that these procedures should be natural for any anesthesia resident/doctor, and just want you guys to touch on how well these procedures are taught to you in your 1st year? I just don't want to look like a fool in front of others when I start residency.

Members don't see this ad.

To enter anesthesia residency you must be proficient in all procedures first.

kidding

I had to tube a 300+ lber my first night of call on my 3rd day of internship by myself. Chew on that one for awhile.

Members don't see this ad :)
I transferred the pt from the floor to the icu. I made sure that I had all of the equipment I would need present and in working order. I induced the pt, used a laryngoscope to aid in direct visualization of the cords, and slid a tube between them.

I transferred the pt from the floor to the icu. I made sure that I had all of the equipment I would need present and in working order. I induced the pt, used a laryngoscope to aid in direct visualization of the cords, and slid a tube between them.