question for Pharmacists??????

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Dr. Leca

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Over the years of working in a Pharmacy, has it been worth it?
Do you ever get sick of doing it? Is it just the most repetitive job out there?
Is the pay good enough to live really comfortably in California????
Is the pay that good???

I work as a Pharmacy clerk, finishing up my bachelors right now. Not sure what I'll do after. I really enjoy working Pharmacy, but I am scared that it will get annoying after years.

just curious........do you love your jobs? do you have any regrets?

Members don't see this ad.

Dr. Leca said:
Is the pay that good???

I work as a Pharmacy clerk, finishing up my bachelors right now. Not sure what I'll do after. I really enjoy working Pharmacy, but I am scared that it will get annoying after years.

As with any job there is good and bad.

pro; Pharmacy has allowed me to live in some very cool places and do some
very cool things. I learned to fly becoming a flight instructor and raised my
children in a Colorado ski town. I passed up opportunities to practice in Alaska
Australia and Saipan, but they were opportunities just the same. While the
rest of the country swelters in a heat wave we enjoyed a glorious summer day of 68 degrees thanks to the portability of pharmacy.

con; the money isn't quite good enough to negate the temptation to work
overtime. Indeed it is an occupational hazard. I missed much of my children's childhood because I was at work. Another occupational hazard is
inactivity and weight gain. Go to any association meeting and look at all the
big bellies. After working a twelve or fourteen hour day the last thing you want to do is exercise. These days I am rabidly against overtime or moonlighting and have endured an extreme paycut to find a position that minimizes the stress inherent in the system. Like many employee pharmacists