Question regarding how to get my application process ready (Advice required)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Nexuss

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I am a student from Canada that just finished my 4th year of university at Guelph University and I wanted to apply to the states this coming July 2016 so I need some advice on how to make my application the best it can be. I plan on taking a 5th year to finish required pre-requisites while I am waiting in the 2017 cycle.

So my situation at the moment is after 4 years of university my GPA is 2.97 and I wrote the OAT last year with a score of 330 (but under 300 in Biology so I want to re-take this summer as well).

My issue at the moment is that from the courses I took I got a D in Physics and C- in year 1 chemistry. Therefore I assume it is mandatory for me to re-take these courses. In addition, it's evident that my GPA is right under the 3.0 mark. My concern is that do I need to show that these 2 courses are above the pre-requisite grades optometry schools need BEFORE or AFTER I apply in July? If possible, I would like to take these courses in my 5th year to give me more space to study for my OAT but if that's not the case I will have to do both simultaneously.

My next issue is that what is the minimum GPA / science GPA to even apply to optometry school? If it is 3.0 or ABOVE, then I will be forced to raise my GPA to 3.0 with 2 summer school courses BEFORE I apply in July. However, if I can apply with a 2.97 then I can take these courses later and focus on my OAT.

Summary - 2 pre-reqs under C grade = Can I take these AFTER I apply in July or must I take them before applying?
- GPA 2.97 = Must I raise this to 3.0 before applying or is 2.97 eligible for me to apply?

Thank you very much for all the help!

Members don't see this ad.