Question Regarding Letters of Recommendation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lostgraduateboy

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am about to apply to programs in Counseling Psychology for my Masters. I have been out of school for almost a year now (graduated in May 2011). My biggest concern is in the area of recommendations.

I have asked three professors to write me letters previously when I decided to apply for a few doctoral programs in Clinical Psychology. I did not get accepted into any of the programs.

I have since refined my focus, and I am now interested in getting a Masters in Counseling Psychology before I proceed to a doctorate. I feel that this path will give me more research experience and strengthen my mediocre profile.

I graduated with a 3.4 GPA overall, 3.5 in Psychology, 1200 GRE, a year of research and laboratory experience and three LoRs from different professors. I am now reapplying, but I am not sure how to approach these professors to ask for more LoRs for these Masters programs. I feel that I am being a burden because I haven't been in contact with them since I've applied a year ago.

I need some guidance on the best path to take right now. I am highly motivated and did not let the first failure deter me from reapplying. My ultimate goal is to become a Psychologist and failures will not stop me from reaching that goal. However, I have to overcome an obstacle right now and that is to furnish LoRs to apply for this year's round of Masters programs.

Members don't see this ad.