Questions Concerning a British Education

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sam500

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,
I'm a recent PhD student interested in transitioning into a medical career.
However, I have had a somewhat non-standard eduction as summarized below.

(I'm 28yold married and am a Citizen of the United States- assuming this is pertinent)

Undergrad: University of Cambridge, England
BA Natural Sciences
1st year: Biology, Chemistry, Physics, Maths
2nd year:Organic Chemistry, Biochemistry, Molecular and Cellular Biology
3rd year: Biochemistry
Masters: University of Cambridge, England
Msci: Biochemistry
Another Masters: University of California, Berkeley
MA: Molecular and Cellular Biology

While my British undergraduate background is much more "broad background" than others in England, it is very narrow compared to those in the USA. British students specialize early and as a result I do not have any Humanities or English university classes under my belt. I also have not performed any community service or volunteer medical work.

I do have 2 masters, over 6 years of chemistry and biochemical lab experience, and a couple of publications in scientific journals I do not have a GPA for my undergrad as such, but did score a 1st in my second year and a 2.1 in my 3rd year. My GPA for the Berkeley masters was a 3.823.

Assuming I score well on the MCAT, is it worth my while applying to med school this year?
Alternatively, I could take some english and history courses at a local community college and do some volunteer work at a hospital and apply next year (although it is possible to rush to get these tasks done this summer).
Basically, am I competitive? Should I apply this year or wait until next?

Cheers,
Sam

Members don't see this ad.