Quitting Intern Pharmacist Position? Advice Please!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

funnybunny

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm currently in my P3 year and am about to go on rotations at the end of June. I've been working as an intern pharmacist for the past 2 years. During our P4 year, our manager is expecting us to work 14 hours a week on top of our rotations. In the past, P4 interns have only worked 8 hours a week. Our manager is using us to cut costs on pharmacists. Many of the staff pharmacists believe he is abusing our position and that 14 hours/week is too much to ask for P4s. Our manager states that if we're unable to meet this requirement, then we'll have to resign. I'd rather not be forced to lose my sanity during my P4 year but I'd also rather not cut ties with the company I'm currently at. This company is known for hiring from within. Any advice?? Will it look bad if I resign my P4 year and try to apply back for a pharmacist position when I graduate?

Members don't see this ad.

I'm currently in my P3 year and am about to go on rotations at the end of June. I've been working as an intern pharmacist for the past 2 years. During our P4 year, our manager is expecting us to work 14 hours a week on top of our rotations. In the past, P4 interns have only worked 8 hours a week. Our manager is using us to cut costs on pharmacists. Many of the staff pharmacists believe he is abusing our position and that 14 hours/week is too much to ask for P4s. Our manager states that if we're unable to meet this requirement, then we'll have to resign. I'd rather not be forced to lose my sanity during my P4 year but I'd also rather not cut ties with the company I'm currently at. This company is known for hiring from within. Any advice?? Will it look bad if I resign my P4 year and try to apply back for a pharmacist position when I graduate?