Radically Reinvented Student - Old GPA vs. New GPA

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Old Ham

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I’m a reinvented student with two vastly different GPAs from different eras in my life, and am wondering how adcoms might reconcile the two in their deliberations.

My first crack at college produced a 1.x GPA, including a number of Ws and Fs. More than ten years later, I returned to college with an eye toward medical school. I’ve now graduated, having run a 4.0 though 100-plus credits, including all required and most recommended prereqs.

My overall AMCAS GPA is ~3.4 (MCAT pending). Assuming my app sees human eyes, how might those two GPAs be reconciled by an adcom? As I look at the MSAR and consider where I have a fair shot at acceptance, what should I consider my “effective” GPA? 3.4, 4.0 or somewhere between?

I looked through the forums and didn’t see a situation quite like this. Thanks for your input!

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
I would be very surprised if anyone took your old grades seriously after 100 units at 4.0

Im curious as too as to how much weight is put into the AMCAS gpa, previous to anyone even being able to look at trending. I'm in the same boat, have some F's from not withdrawing from classes almost 10 years ago. A couple of my dads old med classmates are on admissions, and when I recently spoke with one of them they couldn't stress the importance of trending enough. He was saying an overall 3.8 with an upward trend it a huge difference to a 3.8 with a downward trend. I think at the point your and I are at, it almost can't even be considered a trend, it's two separate lines. I think as long as people actually get to see a transcript, they won't even consider the old GPA, or I would even venture to say, the old GPA might HELP you. They like people that overcome adversity.

Members don't see this ad :)