RadOnc and the Gamma Knife

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RunDMCMD

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a newbie interested in RadOnc.

Can you guys please tell me what role a RadOnc plays during a gamma knife procedure ? Does he/she assist the neurosurgeon ?

Can RadOncs do a neuro procudure with the Gamma knife without the n-surgeon ?

Can RadOncs do non-neuro Gamma knife procedures without cooridation with other surgeons ?

I would appreciate a discuss/education on RadOncs and the Gamma knife.

Thank you.

Members don't see this ad.

Can you guys please tell me what role a RadOnc plays during a gamma knife procedure ? Does he/she assist the neurosurgeon ?

There is some institutional variablity. Generally (at large, academic institutions) the process goes something like this:

1. Patient shows up
2. Neurosurgeon affixes sterotactic head frame
3. Pt undergoes MRI brain w/ head frame
4. Radiation Oncologist draws volumes based on MRI
5. Neurosurgeon double-checks volumes w/ modification if needed
6. We also like an official Neuro-Radiology read
7. Physicist makes plan and comes up w/ dose distribution
8. Pt is placed into the GK unit
9. Beam on!
10. Neurosurgeon removes head frame and bandages wound sites

Legally? I don't know. But I would not.

Can RadOncs do non-neuro Gamma knife procedures without cooridation with other surgeons ?

See above. Surgeons should be involved.

Interestingly, although most rad-oncs do not place the frames, they can remove the frames and bill for that (learned that at the course). I'm not sure why we don't place the frame. During our rotation, we can learn how to do that. It's not very hard, really, but I wouldn't really want to do it.